Home » all the news that's fit » Some links for your Friday (on Monday, oops!)

Some links for your Friday (on Monday, oops!)

This first link is from my dad — I’m very lucky to have parents who know what I like and while they don’t always approve, they do pass things along to me that might be interesting. This article is one of those instances. Actually, there are two articles from my parents in this post! The first, from my father, and the second, from my mother. In the first article, much of the article is about my favorite author, William Gibson. The second article is told in a webcomic format, which my mother knows I like.

  • What Is an @uthor? Today’s social media landscape confronts contemporary authors with a qualitatively different opportunity to confront their public selves. (LA Review of Books)
  • Guilty, Then Proven Innocent With eight successful exonerations so far, North Carolina’s Innocence Inquiry Commission could be a national model for fighting wrongful convictions. (The Atlantic)
  • Scorched Earth, 2200AD Climate change has done its worst, and now just 500 million humans remain on lifeboats in the north. How do they survive? (Aeon)
  • Send in the Weathermen: As the Department of Defense’s only commando forecasters, SOWTs gather mission-impossible environmental data from some of the most hostile places on Earth.
  • Wokking the Suburbs As he stepped woozily into the first American afternoon of his life, the last thing my father wanted to do was eat Chinese food. (Lucky Peach)
Leave a Reply

