Home » kdramas non-kdramas and other tv-related things » Series Review: Doctor Stranger (SBS)

Series Review: Doctor Stranger (SBS)

Note: this was originally posted on a different blog, but I’m moving it here because it’s more relevant. It written in July of 2014.

Warning: Spoilers for all 20 episodes of DS.

Park Hae Jin in Doctor Stranger via PHJ's Weibo.

Park Hae Jin in Doctor Stranger via PHJ’s Weibo.

I was first introduced to Park Hae Jin on old episodes of Family Outing, a show which I still adore (though only that first season). Up until deciding to watch Doctor Stranger, the extent of my watching PHJ was a handful of episodes of My Love From Another Star*. I like him for all the superficial reasons, but I had no idea what he was like as an actor. Sure, he seemed to do a good job in those 5 (I think?) episodes of MYFAS, but that’s not enough to really go on. Plus, I’d heard great things about Lee Jong Suk (and he’s in at least one thing I want to watch). And while I don’t really like medical dramas, I figured this might be interesting. After all, a guy escapes from North Korea and becomes a doctor, it sounds good!

And those first couple of episodes? They were brilliant. All the back story that built up LJS’s character was incredibly well done. The cinematography, plot, and acting were spot on. And then the show caught up to read time and devolved into a mess. It wasn’t immediate and I didn’t quite realize what was going on. I liked LJS’s tears and PHJ’s ice cold demeanor. I thought the show had potential … and I guess it did? And maybe that’s the root of the problem. It had so much potential that I kept watching in hopes that it might realize the potential.

For example, the early scenes between Jin Se Yeon (Jae Hee/Seung Hee) were exception and understated. Many of flirty scenes between LJS and Kang So Ra’s Soo Hyun were promising because their chemistry was palpable. This was a storyline I wanted to follow. And the true reveal (for what we already knew or perhaps I guessed) about PHJ’s character’s true identity finally gave me something to hold onto. Revenge makes for good drama (I did quite enjoy Golden Cross) and I thought that, perhaps, PHJ would get to (no pun intended) act on it. Unfortunately none of these story lines carried through from one episode to the next, much less throughout the whole show.

When Hoon (LJS) discovers that his first love has come back, there’s no chemistry. When Soo Hyun and Jae Joon (PHJ) have scenes together, there’s almost no chemistry — which in this case is not the actor’s fault. All the Hoon and Soo Hyun scenes have shown us who should end up together. It’s only the interactions between Chang Yi (played exceptionally well by Sistar’s Bora) and Hoon as well as Chang Yi and her love interest, Chi Gyu (played by Lee Jae Won, who was in H.O.T, which I had no idea), that were consistently entertaining throughout the whole show. That’s pretty sad, guys.

And yet, in spite of all of this — the bad acting, the plot holes as big as the Lake Michigan, and the nonsensical episodes, I KEPT WATCHING. I don’t know if it was the magnetic power of  PHJ’s beauty or the chance I might get to see LJS cry again — or maybe it’s as simple as watching a train wreck (at least no one was actually hurt) when you can’t look away. It wasn’t hate watching, because I never actually hated the show (that’s what Level 7 Civil Servant devolved into — it took a sheer force of will to keep watching it). But there was something that kept me watching.

I’ll probably never know and, to be frank, I’m fine with not knowing. Why? Because it’s over. I never, ever have to watch it again.

And I’ll end on this note. Every time someone asked me about the show/what I was watching, I would struggle to describe it, except to say that Doctor Stranger took place in the single worst hospital ever. I still stand by that statement. That being said, though. I’m looking forward to watching LJS in I Hear Your Voice and PHJ in his new murderer/serial killer (?) role. And maybe one day I’ll finish YWCFTS.

*It’s not quite a year later (give it a few months) and while I’ve watched some more of YWCFTS/MLFAS (My Love From Another Star) I don’t think I’ll ever be able to finish it. It’s just terrible, or at least terrible to me (and my friend who is currently powering through). Sorry, PHJ.

Leave a Reply

