Home » kdramas non-kdramas and other tv-related things » Series Review: My Love From Another Star

Series Review: My Love From Another Star

Park Hae Jin as Lee Hwi Kyung (by lnse)

Note: Spoilers for the entire drama.

Instead of writing this review, I’ve been looking for pictures to post with it. Why? Because writing this review is going to be weird. It took me a very, very long time to watch this drama (not as long as some, but still a long time). I initially began watching it because I’m fan of Park Hae Jin and he plays the second lead, which meant he’d get a lot of screen time, if not the girl. I was okay with that (and I guess I still am, really), but the drama just wasn’t working for me. I pretty much gave up on it until March of this year. Why? Well, that’s complicated.

created by ywcfts

My friend E really likes the actor Shin Sung Rock and it so happens that he plays the villain in My Love From Another Star (MFLAS) and so she decided that of course she needed to watch it. I’d already watched the first five episodes, but that was ages ago, so she’d watch episodes and then email me very hilarious recaps of what happened. I mean, at this point I didn’t remember any of the characters names and she wasn’t really interested in learning them. She watched some more episodes, I watched some more episodes, but it just wasn’t pulling me in, but I was trying.

It’s near the end of March and we meet up in Cleveland and because sometimes we’re lazy, we watched episode eight or nine and it was boring. It was so boring. I cannot even begin to express how boring it was. I didn’t care about any of these characters, even PHJ. Then we went our separate ways, I watched something else and E kept plugging along with MFLAS and somehow it … got better? That’s not quite right, but at least it stopped being boring. Which meant that, in the end, I just plowed through it. God, it was hard.

But, as with Boys Over Flowers*, it was worth. Not because MLFAS is actually good (it’s not, it’s really, really not), but because it’s so incredibly popular that people are constantly referencing it in Chinese and Korean popular culture and now there are jokes that I finally understand. So, you know, that’s nice. And, guess what, I never have to watch it again – which is EVEN BETTER.

create by ywcfts

created by ywcfts

The drama is about an actress, mostly a TV actress, who isn’t very bright and is very selfish. She has lots of issues, including a missing dad and a mom who spends all her money before she even earns it. Stuff happens and she ends up moving into a very fancy apartment building next to a very handsome man, played by Kim Soo Hyun. It just turns out that KSH’s character is an alien, yes an alien.

Obviously, the romance is between the kdrama actress (which is what E called her in the recaps) and KSH the alien. Their actual characters names are Cheon Song Yi (the actress) and Do Min Joon (the alien). PHJ plays Song Yi’s best friend who also happens to be in love with her. His character’s name is Lee Hwi Kyung and he’s twice over cursed – 1) Song Yi is definitely not in love with him and she’s not going to be. 2) His brother, Lee Jae Kyung (Shin Sung Rok) is a very, very bad guy.

Most of the drama takes place in 2013/2014m, but in almost every episode there are flashbacks. Some of them are Min Joon 400 years earlier when he came to Earth and ended up stranded here. Others are of his life throughout the years. These flashbacks tie the original 400 year story to the present day and attempt to give the drama the historical fusion feel that is very hard to accomplish.

Min Joon doesn’t want to fall in love with Song Yi, but because this is a historical fantasy kdrama, he’s fated to do so. Why? She looks like someone from his past. Which means of course he’s going to fall in love with her and she’s going to fall in love with him. That’s fate for you.

Kim Soo Hyun as Do Min Joon created by ywcfts

Kim Soo Hyun as Do Min Joon (created by ywcfts

The drama follows Song Yi and Min Joon as they navigate their way to finding their way to each other. There’s lots of drama throughout the show, from Jae Kyung killing people to Song Yi losing her career to her finding it again. And, against my desires, there were a couple of scenes that made me cry. Damn you, drama, damn you!

I didn’t really like this drama. I’m not a big fan of over the top acting or unnecessary drama within a tv show, but even though I didn’t like it, I felt compelled to finish it. It’s not like I couldn’t even read recaps to find out what happened, it more that I wanted the satisfaction of having finished it. I did feel rewarded when I completed the final episode, but at the same time it sort of sucked because I could see what this drama should’ve been.

One of my biggest problems is that I felt that KSH was poorly cast, this is not a slight on his acting (he’s amazing in the movie Secretly Greatly), but I felt his character should’ve been played by Seo In Gook (I believe that was the one of the reasons I quit watching it in the beginning). Another complaint I had was that all of the characters seemed to be caricatures of themselves. If this had been based on a manga or a manhwa, that would’ve made sense, but it wasn’t.

The drama also couldn’t decide what it wanted to be. Was it a comedy? A romance? A thriller? It could’ve done two of those, hell it could’ve done all three, but instead of trying to do them all well, it did them all poorly. Sometimes when the drama picked one of them to focus on, it worked better. But that seldom happened and instead the drama floundered.

 Lee Hwi Kyung isn’t as dumb as he seems. (by lnse)

I didn’t necessarily like much of the cast or the acting, but there were times when the drama really worked for me. PHJ’s character shone through many times – his devotion to Song Yi, his attempts to be the better man and the fact that, in the end, he ended up alone but also turned into a better person. Also, all of his interactions with his brother after he realized what a horrible person he was were very well done. PHJ and Shin Sung Rok should be in another drama together, because they work very well opposite one another.

I don’t regret watching. I do sort of resent the fact that it made me cry. I can remember a few times when I was sitting on the couch crying as I watched and I was mad at myself for being upset, but I couldn’t help it! I’m such an easy crier.

Overall I’d give this drama a C, maybe a C+ because PHJ is so pretty. Don’t watch it, it’s not worth it unless you need to know the pop culture references. Otherwise, ugh.

But if my crappy review makes you want to watch it, here’s how: Hulu, DramaFever, or Viki.

Song Yi and Min Joon gifset by seouldramas

*BoF is a truly terrible drama based on a manga. It’s awful, don’t watch it. But when I got into kpop/kdramas, it was still really popular as a reference point (it came out in 2009, I got into kpop in 2011) and something that people would still make fun of. In addition, H and I later watched a bunch of old stuff that referred back to BoF, so it was useful to understand what they were talking about. Even though the drama was awful. I’m glad I watched it, but man. Don’t watch it.

Leave a Reply

