Home » all the news that's fit » The Wednesday Four: (06/03/15)

The Wednesday Four: (06/03/15)

What a strange mix of links today.

Of those 100 books, I’ve read four: Eleanor & Park, Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Before I Fall and Station Eleven. Of those, I would only recommend two of them. Before I Fall was an enjoyable fantasy-esque novel about a girl who only has one day to live. Station Eleven is a truly excellent piece of dystopian fiction set in the Northern Lower Peninsula of Michigan, Hollywood and Toronto. I cannot recommend Station Eleven enough. Go read that one.

I don’t remember why I don’t like Daughter of Smoke & Bone, except that I didn’t find it interesting in the least and wasn’t fond of the main character. I did like Eleanor & Park, though I didn’t love it (I also didn’t like Rowell’s other YA offering, Fangirl). But a friend of mine sent me a link (I’ve long since lost it) that explained why E&P is a terrible novel and the more I think about the book, the more I agree. Though I can’t find the original link, here are some other reviews that sum up why I no longer like nor can recommend E&P.

As for the rest of the list? I can think of plenty of YA, Science Fiction and Fantasy titles that should be on that list that aren’t. I don’t really understand why there are so few of them, but there are some popular (to library patrons, at least) titles on the list. It’s worth checking out, even if I think they give short shrift to YA, SF&F books.

Leave a Reply

