Home » books books and more books » Friday Recs

Friday Recs

51j2xe9t8FL._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_I sort of fell of the posting train for self-care and while I have been doing things self-care wise, I thought I would try something different for posting. Instead of a whole list of things, I’d like to try recommending one thing and maybe discussing it a little bit.

This week I’d like to recommend Nnedi Okorafor’s science fiction novella Binti. 

Binti is the start of a 3 novella trilogy by Okorafor. It’s set in the future, which in some ways feels much like our present day, but it’s definitely not set today. Binti is also the name of our main character, a young woman who is leaving her home on Earth to enter university. She is the first of her people to leave Earth, to travel in space, and to go to university.

The novella is about Binti’s struggle in these new worlds, but it’s more than that. It’s the story of being alien among aliens, about being different, and about survival. But at it’s heart, Binti is about the importance of taking risks to do the right thing. I don’t want to spoil the story for you, because it is so good, so I’ll stop there.

Outside of the plot itself, everything about Okorafor’s novella is excellent. The story, of course, is good. But the writing is beautiful and the characters come alive, Binti especially, but all of them. I loved Binti because I love Binti herself, but also because I love Okorafor’s storytelling.

I do want to note that I listened to the audio version and if you can grab a copy, please do. Robin Miles does a truly wonderful job with the voices throughout the novel and I dearly hope she reads the remaining novellas in the series. Please give Binti a try!

Tor helpfully has written and audio excerpts form Binti if you want a taste.

Leave a Reply

